Tuesday, 1 June 2010

Lighring / Rendering !

And no its a pain and its a terrible pain. Hate it hate it hate it. I spend  around 2 days fighting with it and I just cant think about it any more tbh. Maya its bugged more than Battlefield Bad Company 2 on the release day.(which was not even working because master EA server went DOWN).


Simple problems, why is maya not using all of my CPU ? I got Dual quad core nehelem (8cpu/16 threads), guess what? Took me 2h to google the reason. Problem was simple maya was using 2/4 threads of my cpu 25%. I set up in settings to use all manually to push it up to max but I only got 2/4 extra threats maxing it out at 50%. Now 2hours later I finally found a solution to fix it and knowing maya it was not easy, I had to go to maya files, find specific file open it and use my super non existing coding skills to fix maya code to utilize all of my cpus.


Another one problem is, why on earth maya render is saving files somewhere else than maya bath ? And why cant I just pick location... More pain to manage files. 


Another one, why all my extra render pass came out black ? I just need simple alpha for shadows! How hard can that be ! Guess what was the solution? Coding again ! Even tho I did it like people say to do it, it still didn't work.  


Rendering issues, funny thing actually. When I render in max 400 frames max usually stay at same memory lvl. Meaning it start at 2gig and end and 2.5 gig depends from camera, scene etc etc. Maya from the other hand start from 500 mb and end up at sky rocked 15 GB ! then she crash... was fun to experience that :) 


To be honest I could list lots of issues with this program that I ran in to. I guess they all can be fixed and corrected, the question I'm asking is why its me that has to do it? I pay Autodesk to do it after all...


Anyway above all those damn problems there are few things that I actually like in maya. The graph editor, rigging and so on, however rendering in maya its pain and still at level back in 1990 where all we had is F9 which was shortcut for render. (maya still doesn't have it...)


No comments:

Post a Comment